Don’t call it a comeback

Sorry for the prolonged silence here. It’s been an eventful month.

The big news, and the news I’ve had some trouble putting into words: I had my fight. And it was awesome.

The movies always seem to show the boxing ring as this separate universe where everything runs at half speed, usually with the sound of a heartbeat in the background or something like that. This isn’t how it was for me. If anything, time ran faster. It was over pretty quickly. Watching a recording after the fact, I noticed that my movements were much faster, and there was a lot more movement in general, than I’ve become accustomed to in sparring.

The biggest difference between sparring and fighting, though, was definitely the crowd. My trainer told me to be ready for it and I thought I was ready for it – whenever I’ve got my headgear on at the gym-gym, regardless of whether I’m fully sparring or just doing defensive drills, people stopping what they’re doing to watch is a fairly regular occurrence. I’ve had as many as a dozen onlookers watching before. But I usually can’t hear them react. I can’t hear them go “ooh” every time someone (my opponent) scores a clean-looking hit (on me). And this was all I could hear during the fight. I wanted to turn around and correct them – “that was nothing! I didn’t even feel it!” but I was kind of in the middle of something so I couldn’t.

This isn’t to say it was a totally one-sided massacre – it wasn’t. It was a really evenly matched bout and I think it was fun to watch. I’m already looking ahead to the next time, which hopefully won’t be before too long. In the meantime, I’ve put back the eight pounds I had to drop for the fight and I’m back into my regular training routine – sparring with my usual partners, weights, roadwork, bagwork, padwork, and getting enraged about things I read on the Internet. More to come.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t call it a comeback

  1. girlboxing says:

    Congrats on the fight!!!

  2. Wonderful! You did it! Way to go.

  3. onegal08 says:

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

