The Waiting is the Hardest Part

So I’m sure you’re all dying to know how the fight went.

Well …it didn’t.

Friday night, I was coming out of the office holiday party (hosted at a fancy Italian restaurant, where I took one bite of everything that came around and sipped on seltzer while the table wine flowed like…well, wine) with some coworkers. They asked if I wanted to adjourn with them to a bar downtown. “I probably shouldn’t,” I said, “but I’m going that way so I’ll ride down with you.”

These words were barely out of my mouth – as Billy Crystal says in When Harry Met Sally, the words were still hanging in the air in their little cartoon bubble – when my phone rang. It was the venue. The fight was off. Argh. It’s been postponed, though, not cancelled outright. The good news was, I had alternate plans right there in front of me. So I blew off some steam, ended my fight diet with a delicious burger from Paul’s Palace on St. Mark’s and 2nd, and spent my weekend not punching anybody or anything. I hit up a couple more favorite restaurants, got a massage, took in my church’s Christmas pageant, did some baking, and finished up my holiday shopping. I have to say, as much as I love my sport, it was nice to not be all boxing all the time for a couple of days.

My trainer says I can just consider all of my hard work practice for when the fight does happen (hopefully in a month). I’ve done the prep work now, so I know what it entails and next time it’s bound to be less arduous. Plus, now I will go into this fight with an extra month of knowledge and strength and ability that I wouldn’t have had on Saturday. That’s not a bad thing. All the same, I wanted the first fight to be over this weekend. I was more than ready for it. It was time. I’m going to close out 2010 with the same record I had when I started it: 0-0. This is disappointing, but at least I have January to look forward to.

In the meantime, I was right back in the gym this morning, doing pads and strategy drills with my trainer. Apparently all those extra carbs over the weekend have fueled my brain, because I felt my strategic impulses snapping and popping like fireworks. I’d planned to take this week easy, but obviously with a fight yet to prepare for, this isn’t going to happen. Still, I do intend to enjoy this upcoming holiday to the fullest. I hope you all will do the same!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Waiting is the Hardest Part

  1. girlboxing says:

    Sorry your fight didn’t come off as planned, but I’m sure you’ll be that much better prepared when you do finally enter the ring! All the best for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

