Inspiration Sometimes Comes from Unlikely Places

Training is never an easy thing. Some days it’s a little easier than others, but it’s always hard work. And when you’re approaching a fight, the hard work compounds exponentially.

Oh, right, I should back up for a second: OH MY GOD YOU GUYS I HAVE A FIGHT.

In a couple of weeks, I’ll be stepping into the ring for real for the first time. And as such, the coming weeks will involve considerably amping up my workout routine. It’s already started, in fact. My trainer’s been kicking my ass all over the gym these past few days. He calls it “conditioning.” I call it “ow.” But I’ve committed to doing all of it, because every second I don’t do something is a second my prospective opponent probably is doing something. So I’m in the gym for an hour or two every morning and another hour when I get home from work, and I’m busting my lovely lady lumps to get into my best possible fighting shape.

On top of this, Prospective Opponent apparently fights at a bit less than my typical walking-around weight, and a fair bit less than what the scale said the day after I returned from spending Thanksgiving week in eastern Europe, stuffing my face with spaetzle and gluhwein. In order to make the fight happen, I have to be within five pounds of her. This means the ever-dreaded cutting weight. So on top of all of the extra gym work, I’m eating a very limited, very restricted diet until fight day. It’s working so far – 16 days out, I’ve only got six pounds to go. But let me tell you, it SUCKS ROCKS. Regular weight-loss dieting is pretty damn unpleasant…but I promise you, what I’m doing now is a whole new level of suckitude. Thankfully, it’s not a permanent arrangement. I keep myself sane by thinking about all the ways I’m going to gain this weight back the second my fight is over. And in the meantime, I have the fight to look forward to.

Still, it’s never easy to paste a smile on my face and pack in all this training around a full-time job, a boyfriend, an apartment to care for, and a busy schedule of reading the internets. And sometimes it’s hard to drag myself into the extra training. Take last night, for instance. A typical Wednesday night, pre-fight-prep, would involve coming home, cooking up some stir-fry for the boyfriend and myself, and kicking back to watch Survivor, the one TV program whose bitch I have been for an entire decade. Only last night, boyfriend got to indulge in the stir-fry while I ate a salad, and I also had to add in my hour of cardio. Thankfully, the TVs in my building’s gym have been activated, so combining the workout and Survivor was easy. That didn’t stop me from being cranky about having to work out while I watched it.

If you watch Survivor and you didn’t see last night’s, you may want to avert your eyes here, because I’m going to tell you what happened. Twenty-eight days into the show, two contestants decided in last night’s episode that they were going to quit the game. Some of their fellow contestants saw the exit as advantageous to their own game, others were irritated by the quitters’ selfish and capricious reasoning. But one contestant, South Dakotan swim coach Holly Hoffman, did her best to convince at least one of them to stay.

Holly herself was ready to quit on day five of the game, until her teammate, former NFL coach Jimmy Johnson, gave her a pep talk that convinced her to stick around. And now it was her turn to impart this wisdom to the weakened, downtrodden would-be quitter known to the tribe as “Kelly Purple.” As I watched Holly give her pep talk, I, like Kelly Purple, was tired. I was sore. I was freakin’ hungry. And I had a good 20 minutes left on my workout. But there was no way I was going to quit while someone was giving an inspirational speech about not quitting. Furthermore, there was no way I could possibly quit while watching an episode centered around people quitting. So I didn’t. I stuck it out and kept working until the end of the episode. No way am I going to be a quitter.

I could write about a billion more paragraphs about last night’s Survivor but this is not that kind of blog. Expect more updates as my fight date approaches – there’s a lot going on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Inspiration Sometimes Comes from Unlikely Places

  1. Camella says:

    I always read your blog, but am just now commenting for the first time (I got here from LJ).

    I am so glad you found inspiration in Holly’s speech! Too bad Kelly didn’t. I can’t believe that Naonka and Kelly both quit. Survivor history was made and it made for good TV, but Ugh. (Though I am glad that Naonka is no longer in the game. I think she is just not a good person).

    Good luck with your fight. I can’t wait to read all about it (and your prep-work in the meantime)!

    • Pink Pearl says:

      I always said it would take some special kind of awful to make me miss Russell, but Naonka managed it. I don’t think there’s ever been a more terrible person on the show. Although some twisted part of me is really looking forward to seeing what she has to say for herself in her jury speech.

      Thanks for the good wishes and the comment! It’s so great to know you’re enjoying it!

      • Camella says:

        I agree completely. Naonka is terrible…and delusional about herself. Come on, suck it up for 11 days. Yeesh.

        Hope training is still going well for you. 🙂

  2. Bonnie says:

    I’m also a first-time commenter.

    I’ve followed your blog since the beginning because my path has seemed to take such a similar coarse to yours – including your upcoming fight!

    After one year of training I got my first fight last weekend, but it also meant I had to cut weight. I went on a STRICT boxers diet plan and dropped 8 pounds in 5 days. Not fun, wouldn’t recommend it, but completely worth it. I was really worried I would be drained from the extra roadwork/training in layers/minimal food. But I ate and re-hydrated after the weigh-ins, took some time to meditate to myself – and went in the ring for the first time and kicked ass.

    Without a doubt it was one of the best experiences of my life. And afterwards, walking through the crowds and having random strangers comment on what a good fight it was – especially since it was the only female fight of the night – made all that extra training and effort worth it.

    Keep it up, concentrate on your gameplan, and remember, win or lose, very few people can say they’ve gone toe-to-toe with another human being, it’s definitely a feeling unlike any other.

    Can’t wait to hear more!

    • Pink Pearl says:

      THIS is exactly who I needed to hear from – someone who’s done this and lived to tell about it. Congratulations on your first fight! Can’t wait to join the club! 🙂

      • Bonnie says:

        Any time! You will be nervous, I promise that, but try to focus the nerves, concentrate on your own game rather than on your opponent.

        I also should warn you – it’s addicting! The second I walked out of that ring, I was ready to step back in it.

  3. girlboxing says:

    That’s so awesome. I can’t wait to read about how the fight went. Congratulations on taking the plunge!

  4. I come to you via GirlBoxing. Great blog! The Survivor episode, on the other hand, sickened me. Enough said.

    I am not a boxer, though who knows what will happen in the future with all these inspiring boxing blogs and the fact I’ve always been a bit fascinated by the sport. 🙂

    I will say that reading blogs written by people who are serious about their routine, no matter what that is, is a great motivator for me to get on with mine. So thank you for that.

    • Pink Pearl says:

      Thanks so much! One thing I wish I’d always known about sticking to a routine is that if you pick something you love, it’s much easier to make yourself do it. So I try to keep my enthusiasm contagious. Glad to have helped motivate you.

Leave a Reply

