Training Update

It was long past time for me to join a real live, grown up boxing gym, so this past weekend, my trainer and I took a field trip and that’s exactly what I did. Between the boxing gym, the big national-chain gym where my trainer works, and the gym in my apartment complex, I now belong to three gyms, which I’ll grant is a little excessive.

I immediately liked the new gym. It’s located in a big, shabby building on an anonymous block, and it’s all one big, hot, stuffy room full of well-used equipment. Once you get in the door, absolutely everything takes a back seat to boxing. Everyone’s there for the same reason, and everybody’s working hard. I simultaneously felt more conspicuous and less conspicuous sparring there. I was more conspicuous because I knew everybody in there could tell exactly what I was doing right and wrong, and less conspicuous because unlike at the big national-chain gym (where there are often onlookers whenever sparring happens), the sight of people in headgear throwing punches at each other in a boxing gym is pretty much the opposite of interesting.

We’re still working on finding some new sparring partners, but I have to say, my trainer’s really going above and beyond. In the interim, I have some of the usual suspects to throw punches at me while I work on slips. This morning I took my focus mitts and my boyfriend to the gym and held pads while I called out combos for him, which I think will ultimately help my reflexes. I’d like to put on headgear and dodge his jabs, but I can’t decide whether the benefits of the extra defensive work would outweigh any potential negative effects it would have on our relationship.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Training Update

  1. erica057 says:

    I met a girl at nationals who lives and trains in the Bronx. She’s about 5’11 and fights at the low end of the 152# weight class. She is very, VERY good…I could probably find her on Facebook or something if you want me to ask if she needs a sparring partner? Let me know…

Leave a Reply

